Skip to main content

ENG 100: Databases and Annotated Bibliography: Database Searching

Keywords

NOTE ON DATABASE SUPPLIED CITATIONS

Though the citations in the databases are USUALLY correct, they are not error-proof.

Please double check any citations that you receive or copy from a database against your  manual or the library's citation guides.

Finding Articles

Periodical databases are available by selecting the Databases tab on the Library's homepage.

Don’t forget to select the “Full Text” option and/or to limit your results by publication date.

Academic Search Complete and JSTOR are large multidisiplinary databases that are suitable for research on any topic.

Nexis Uni has newspaper and news service coverage from all over the world for targeted current events searching.

***Your Cabrini network username and password are used to access periodical databases from off-campus.  Please contact ITR (610-902-8366) if you have any problems connecting to the databases.***

Reference sources

Librarian

Ellie Knickman's picture
Ellie Knickman
Contact:
610-902-8249

Boolean Searching

AND Retrieves records containing both or all of the search terms joined by AND; the middle sliver of a Venn Diagram.
OR Retrieves records containing either or any of the search terms joined by OR; everything included in a Venn Diagram
NOT Retrieves records that do not contain a specific term.
( )

Groups words together so that you can relate phrases by operators or layer your operators. For example:

(feminist or feminism) AND (literary (theory or criticism))

Just like high school algebra, parentheses must be in pairs, and the inner-most pair is worked first.