Library Guides: EDG 521 Education and Social Policy: Databases

Talk to a Librarian

Library Links

Reference Desk 610.902.8537

Trouble logging in?

***Your Cabrini network username and password are used to access databases from off-campus. Please contact ITR (610-902-8366) if you have any problems connecting to the databases.***

Boolean Searching

No Operator	Searches words together as a phrase in the exact order in which you have typed them.
AND	Retrieves records containing both or all of the search terms joined by AND; the middle sliver of a Venn Diagram.
OR	Retrieves records containing either or any of the search terms joined by OR; everything included in a Venn Diagram
NOT	Retrieves records that do not contain a specific term.
( )	Groups words together so that you can relate phrases by operators or layer your operators. For example: (feminist or feminism) AND (literary (theory or criticism)) Just like high school algebra, parentheses must be in pairs, and the inner-most pair is worked first.

Finding articles-Suggested databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete, the premiere database for education covers all levels from early childhood to higher ed. It includes full text for 1300+ journals and 500+ books and conference papers.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains more than 1.5 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents for education dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, and policy papers.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is one of the most useful databases for scholarly psychology journals. Limit your results by population group and characteristics for more relevant results.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the premier database for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Many records have full text. Also useful for business, leadership, sociology, and education.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to hundreds of journals, books, and conference papers. Also covers journals in criminology and criminal justice, religion, and social work.

NOTE ON DATABASE SUPPLIED CITATIONS

APA Cheat Sheet

Databases pull supplied information about a resource to build their citations. If information has been input incorrectly (all caps, reversed first and last name, abbreviations, etc), those mistakes will be reflected in the database supplied citation.

Please double check any citations that you receive or copy from a database against your APA manual or the APA cheat sheet below!

Welcome to Holy Spirit Library

Anne Schwelm

Subjects: Business, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Leadership, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology

Library Hours

Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm

Sat Closed

Sun 12pm-6pm