Skip to Main Content

AST 396 Black Folklore and Folklife: Databases & Journals

Talk to a Librarian

Library Links

Reference Desk 610.902.8537

Databases

Journals

The dates reference the available full text access.

Use the "search within this publication" link or search box to search these journals. Once you have a list of results, select the Full Text option on the left for EBSCO databases or on the right for ProQuest databases.

Search Tips

  • Check the Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) boxes.
  • Use the Date of Publication option to limit search to a range of years.          
  • Use the Language limiter to limit your results to languages you read fluently.
  • Stack keywords using AND between search boxes. For example: poverty AND child* [using truncation symbol * finds child, children, childhood, etc.] 
  • Use the navigational tools within the database to move forward and back through the results list. 

Boolean Searching

No Operator Searches words together as a phrase in the exact order in which you have typed them.
AND Retrieves records containing both or all of the search terms joined by AND; the middle sliver of a Venn Diagram.
OR Retrieves records containing either or any of the search terms joined by OR; everything included in a Venn Diagram
NOT Retrieves records that do not contain a specific term.
( )

Groups words together so that you can relate phrases by operators or layer your operators. For example:

(feminist or feminism) AND (literary (theory or criticism))

Just like high school algebra, parentheses must be in pairs, and the inner-most pair is worked first.

Librarians are here to help

Profile Photo
Holy Spirit Library
Contact:
610.902.8537

Library Hours

Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm

Sat  Closed

Sun 12pm-6pm

 

 

Subjects: American Studies