Reference Desk 610.902.8537
An annotated bibliography is a Works Cited page that has the addition of a short summary paragraph under each citation called an annotation. An annotation is a summary, which captures the main information or message contained in an article, chapter, or book. An annotation is also evaluative, as it comments on the quality and effectiveness of the source. The summary is intended to inform the reader of content, viewpoint, and relevance to the subject of the bibliography.
The first step to a successful annotated bibliography is collecting your sources. You will want to check your assignment to be clear on the number of sources and the type of sources you are asked to include in the annotated bibliography. For your signature assignment, you are asked to use the resources that are on reserve at the library. Spend time searching for other sources in the appropriate places: library catalog (books), databases (journal articles), Credo Reference ( online database of reference sources), and online (websites. video, social media, etc.). Aim to acquire a list of sources longer than the number of sources you will ultimately need.
After you have collected your sources, it's time to start selecting the ones you will use in your annotated bibliography. Look at each source individually, examining the content as well as the quality of the source. Then look at your sources as a whole. Consider whether they are too similar or too disparate from each other -- each source should offer something different but still work well together. Make a final decision about which sources you will use in your annotated bibliography based on all these factors.
FINAL GOAL: the needed number of strong, relevant, and cohesive sources
After you have chosen the sources you will use in your annotated bibliography, it is time to cite your sources. This is a step that is tempting to skip or gloss over -- writing citations isn't the most fun thing to do - but it is a very important and necessary part of the process.
You are asked to use MLA. If you are using a citation generator or a citation provided by a site or database, double check that the citation is correctly formatted and has all the necessary elements for that source type.
Follow these guidelines very carefully:
AVOID using a web link in place of a citation
The final step of the process is to write an annotation for each of your sources. The annotation should be a substantial paragraph under each citation. To guide you in writing your annotation think about:
Who are the authors of the source, and what are their credentials?
What (or who) is the focus of the source? What does the source argue or conclude?
How did the writer(s) arrive at their perspective or point of view. How did they collect their research or data?
When/Where was this source written or created, is it up to date? In what context was it produced?
Why did the author(s) create this source? Why are you using this source?
AVOID copying directly from an abstract or review. This is Plagiarism.
FINAL GOAL: A perfectly formatted annotated bibliography that represents your research efforts and accurately and originally conveys the content and quality of each source.
These are from the MLA Style Guide, 8th Edition.
Basic Format for a Book, Single Author
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
*Note: the City of Publication should only be used if the book was published before 1900, if the publisher has offices in more than one country, or if the publisher is unknown outside North America.
Basic Format for a Book, with More than One Author
Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
If there are three or more authors, list only the first author followed by the phrase et al.
An Authored Chapter, Work in an Anthology, Reference Book (i.e. Encyclopedia or Dictionary), or Collection
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Essay." Title of Collection, edited by Editor's Names(s), Publisher, Year, Page or Page range of entry.
Format for page p.6
Format for page range: pp. 16-30.
A Chapter, Work in an Anthology, Reference Book (i.e. Encyclopedia or Dictionary), or Collection
"Title of Essay or Section." Title of Collection or Book, edited by Editor's Names(s), Publisher, Year, Page or Page range of entry.
Format for page: p. 6
Format for page range: pp. 16-30.
Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm
Sat Closed
Sun 12pm-6pm
