Skip to main content

ECG 100: Advanced Research Strategies: Home

Advanced Research Strategies

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is the process by which libraries share materials with each other. ILL is meant to be used when HSL does not own an item and cannot provide an adequate substitute. Most ILL article requests happen via library databases -- if you find an article in the databases that we do have full-text access too, select the "request through ILL" option and you will be prompted to complete a request form. Requests for books we do not own in in the library can be made through WorldCat or by emailing ill@cabrini.edu. Of course, you may also contact the library reference desk for help with interlibrary loan requests. 

                    

Google Scholar

     Image result for google scholar

Google Scholar is the Google version of searching library databases. Google scholar is useful if for some reason you are unable to access scholarly articles and may be useful if you are unable to find what you're looking for in the databases. Keep in mind however, that Google scholar contains a vast array of documents that fall under the umbrella of "scholarly literature". It can be difficult sometimes to shift through Google scholar results and to determine what you're looking at. Also, Google Scholar in many cases does not provide full access to the articles you may be most interested in using and may link you simply to an abstract on a publisher's page. 

 

WorldCat

World Cat is a database that allows you to search the catalogs of libraries all over the United States and around the world.  You can find a link to WorldCat on the library's database page. Through WorldCat you can search for items and request them through interlibrary loan. 

               Image result for world cat images