Library Guides: AST 324 Martial Arts Experience: Library Databases and Electronic Resources

Talk to a Librarian

Reference Desk 610.902.8537

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary database.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Credo is a collection of 700+ reference sources. You can search everything in the Credo library, search only a specific subject, or search within a single reference source.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this database for sociocultural anthropology journals.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
SPORTDiscus
This database provides full-text extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health, and sports studies, this database is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers, and students.

Health benefits of hard martial arts in adults: a systematic review
This review explores the evidence for health benefits of “hard” martial arts practice within the adult population.

Use the Language limiter to limit your results to languages you read fluently.

Stack keywords using AND between search boxes. For example: martial arts AND diaspora

Use the navigational tools within the database to move forward and back through the results list.

No Operator	Searches words together as a phrase in the exact order in which you have typed them.
AND	Retrieves records containing both or all of the search terms joined by AND; the middle sliver of a Venn Diagram.
OR	Retrieves records containing either or any of the search terms joined by OR; everything included in a Venn Diagram
NOT	Retrieves records that do not contain a specific term.
( )	Groups words together so that you can relate phrases by operators or layer your operators. For example: (feminist or feminism) AND (literary (theory or criticism)) Just like high school algebra, parentheses must be in pairs, and the inner-most pair is worked first.

Email Me

Contact:

610.902.8537

Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm

Sat Closed

Sun 12pm-6pm