Reference Desk 610.902.8537
To search for scholarly articles, use the library Databases.
Selecting the “Full Text” option and limiting your results by publication date will give you immediate access to the most current articles.
See below for access to select databases geared towards education-based topics:
***Your Cabrini network username and password are used to access periodical databases from off-campus. Please contact ITR (610-902-8366) if you have any problems connecting to the databases.***
To locate a specific journal such as Research in Education use the library's Journals list. If you need to find journal articles about a particular topic, use the databases instead.
From the library's homepage select the Journals tab.
In the find box enter the title of the journal and select search.
The result list will provide information on locating the journal either in print* or electronic format.
Select the hyperlink for the preferred format and follow the links to locate the journal.
*Please note print journals can be obtained by visiting the library during regular hours.
| No Operator | Searches words together as a phrase in the exact order in which you have typed them. |
| AND | Retrieves records containing both or all of the search terms joined by AND; the middle sliver of a Venn Diagram. |
| OR | Retrieves records containing either or any of the search terms joined by OR; everything included in a Venn Diagram |
| NOT | Retrieves records that do not contain a specific term. |
| ( ) |
Groups words together so that you can relate phrases by operators or layer your operators. For example: (feminist or feminism) AND (literary (theory or criticism)) Just like high school algebra, parentheses must be in pairs, and the inner-most pair is worked first. |
Though the citations in the databases are USUALLY correct, they are not error-proof.
Please double check any citations that you receive or copy from a database against your APA manual or the APA cheat sheet below!
Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm
Sat Closed
Sun 12pm-6pm
