Skip to main content
Holy Spirit Library
ECG 100 - Civil Rights & Social Justice
Search this Guide
ECG 100 - Civil Rights & Social Justice: Electronic Resources
Chicago 17th Edition Citation
The Literature Review Paper
Using the Library
Electronic Resources on the Free Web
The Civil Rights History Project: Survey of Collections and Repositories
A collection of links to repositories of civil rights history across the country. Mandated work of the Library of Congress by a law passed in 2009.
The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Membership of over 200 groups in the United States focused on civil and human rights. Numerous position papers on current topics.
Supreme Court Decisions by topic and date
From the Legal Information Institute of Cornell University Law School.
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops: Themes of Catholic Social Teaching
Seven themes and their explanations from the Conference. Supporting Bible verses and papal, conciliar, and epsicopal documents. Discusses matters of health, race, education, and economics.
United States Constitution
Full text with original articles, original amendments (the Bill of Rights), and subsequent amendments.
Articles of Confederation
The country's "first constitution" was drafted in 1777 and in force from 1781 to 1789.
Original Bill of Rights transcription
This compares the original transcription of twelve articles with the final ten amendments that were ratified and included in the Constitution.
HSL Books and E-Books
Slavery's Long Shadow
James L. Gorman (Editor); Jeff W. Childers (Editor); Mark W. Hamilton (Editor)
Call Number: E184 .A1 S625 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
The Ferguson Report
Theodore M. Shaw (Introduction by); The Department of Justice; United States Department of Justice
Call Number: HV8148 .F47 F47 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-23
Latino Young Men and Boys in Search of Justice
Frank de Jesús Acosta; Henry A. J. Ramos
Call Number: HV9104 .L327 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Understanding Mass Incarceration
Call Number: HV9466 .K55 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-11
Lucy Baldwin (Editor); Vicky Pryce (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV9647
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
Bayard Rustin and the Civil Rights Movement
Call Number: E185.97 .R93 L49 1999 eb
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
HSL Electronic Resources
Credo brings together information from 700+ reference sources. You can search everything in the Credo library, search only a specific subject, or search within a single reference source.
Films on Demand
This streaming video collection offers curriculum focused content for the Business, Communications, Education, Health, the Humanities, Math, Medicine, Psych, Sociology, and more.
Statisa is a statistics portal that provides current data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, and consumer goods. Ready made tables are available for downloading.
List of Social Justice Databases
Databases, e-books, and e-reference books that are part of HSL's online collection.
Nexis Uni provides full text to major US and world publications including news wires, tv and radio broadcasts, legal publications, SEC filings, company reports, and blogs from trusted news sources.
The Brookings Institution: Race, Place, and Economic Mobility
Brookings' objective of this project is to "develop practical policy solutions to the complex, intertwined factors that perpetuate inequality of opportunity."
Cato Institute -- Civil Rights
The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization -- a think tank -- dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace.
Economic Policy Institute: Race and Ethnicity
EPI is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions.
The Urban Institute: Race and Ethnicity
Recent research reports included in their Race and Ethnicity research specialization.
Database Searching >>
Jun 22, 2020 4:09 PM
Login to LibApps
Engagements with the Common Good
Holy Spirit Library