Reference Desk 610.902.8537
Periodical databases are available by selecting the Databases tab on the Library's homepage.
Don’t forget to select the “Full Text” option and/or to limit your results by publication date.
Academic Search Complete and JSTOR are large multidisiplinary databases that are suitable for research on any topic.
***Your Cabrini network username and password are used to access periodical databases from off-campus. Please contact ITR (610-902-8366) if you have any problems connecting to the databases.***
When you email yourself an article from the database, in addition to the attachment of the article you also get a link to the article. If you're on campus, that link will work perfectly. If you're off campus, you will need to attach the following URL prefix:
http://ezproxy.library.cabrini.edu/login?url=
For example, this is the information you get from EBSCOhost:
Yoder, J. (2011). Stuff: An Alphabetical Account of Accumulation. Texas Review, 32(3/4), 94-106.
<!--Additional Information:
Persistent link to this record (Permalink): http://search.ebscohost.com/
End of citation-->
In order to access the article, copy and paste first the URL prefix and then the permalink into your browser. It should look like this:
http://ezproxy.library.cabrini.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&
When you access the link with the prefix attached, you should get the Holy Spirit Library login page. Once you've logged in (using the same username and password that you use to log on to the databases) you should be able to access your article in full-text.
| No Operator | Searches words together as a phrase in the exact order in which you have typed them. |
| AND | Retrieves records containing both or all of the search terms joined by AND; the middle sliver of a Venn Diagram. |
| OR | Retrieves records containing either or any of the search terms joined by OR; everything included in a Venn Diagram |
| NOT | Retrieves records that do not contain a specific term. |
| ( ) |
Groups words together so that you can relate phrases by operators or layer your operators. For example: (feminist or feminism) AND (literary (theory or criticism)) Just like high school algebra, parentheses must be in pairs, and the inner-most pair is worked first. |
Though the citations in the databases are USUALLY correct, they are not error-proof.
Please double check any citations that you receive or copy from a database against your APA manual or the APA cheat sheet below!
Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm
Sat Closed
Sun 12pm-6pm
