Library Guides: ESH 350 Cardio Phys/Patho Physiology: Databases

Talk to a Librarian

Library Links

Reference Desk 610.902.8537

General Database Tips

Use keywords rather than complete sentences

Narrow or broaden search results by using the connectors: And, Or, Not.

Use the limiting capabilities to conform to your assignment requirements. For example, use the Date range, Result List Relevance Sort, or Scholarly/Peer reviewed options provided in each database.

Please note: Your Cabrini network username and password are used to access periodical databases remotely. Please contact ITR (610-902-8366) if there are any problems connecting to the databases.

Using a Database to locate Peer Reviewed Journal Articles on a Topic

The primary periodical databases, HealthSource and PubMed are also available by selecting the Exercise Science and Health Promotion subject link from the Databases link on the Library's homepage.

HealthSource This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines including nursing and allied health journals.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Please note: The currency of material in PubMed Central varies by journal. Many journals make their content available in PMC as soon as it is published. Others may delay release of content in PMC for anywhere from a few months to more than a year after publication. Most journals provide free access to full text in PMC within a year of publication
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
This database is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive cover

Finding Journals By Title

To locate a specific journal such as, BMC Cancer, use the library's Journals list; an A to Z list of available journals.

From the library's homepage select the Journals list.
In the search box enter the title of the journal and select search.
The result list will provide information on locating the journal either in print* or electronic full text format.
*Please note print journals can be obtained by visiting the library during regular hours.
Select the hyperlink for the preferred format and follow the links to locate the journal.

Librarians are here to help

Holy Spirit Library

Email Me

Contact:

610.902.8537

Library Hours

Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm

Sat Closed

Sun 12pm-6pm