Library Guides: HSOC 306 Sociology of Happiness: Databases

Talk to a Librarian

Library Links

Reference Desk 610.902.8537

Using Periodical Databases

The primary periodical databases for Sociology and Social Psychology are:

SocINDEX
PsycINFO
Academic Search Complete

Access is restricted to Cabrini ID holders and is available from the library's homepage by selecting first the Databases link, then either the Psychology subject link or the Sociology.

Suggested keywords/subjects:

Happiness
Satisfaction
Well-being
Quality of life

SocINDEX
Some tips:
Use keyword searching.
Use the Published Date option to limit search to a range of years.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Some tips:
Set the language limiter to English.
Choose Linked Full Text to make your search more rewarding.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the premier database for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Many records have full text. Also useful for business, leadership, sociology, and education.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Some tips:
Set the language limiter to English
Choose Linked Full Text to make your search more rewarding
Limit searches to scholarly journals

Journal of Happiness Studies

The Journal of Happiness Studies is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to scientific understanding of subjective well-being. The library has access from 2000 - present. There is a delay of 1 year for the full text. There are two means of access: use the library's journal list link and search for the journal title, or use the database SocINDEX and limit to the journal name in the search box field.

Library's Journal list
Use the library's journal list link and search for the journal title. Select the journal's publisher SpringerLink from the results. This access method is most useful for browsing topics or finding an article when the citation is known.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Connect to the database and limit to the publication name (SO) in the search field.

Web based databases

Google Scholar
A good place to begin your research, Google Scholar indexes books and periodicals, some in full text.

HighWire Press This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database, from Stanford University is a good place to start your research. All of the articles are from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and most are available in full text.

Welcome to Holy Spirit Library

Anne Schwelm

Subjects: Business, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Leadership, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology

Library Hours

Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm

Sat Closed

Sun 12pm-6pm