Library Guides: RELS 218 Introduction to the Gospels: Reference Works

Talk to a Librarian

Library Links

Reference Desk 610.902.8537

Reference Works

Reference works are written by scholars or experts in a particular field. They are a good place to begin your research and to find background information. Some of the various types of reference works include:

almanacs
bibliographies
chronologies
concordances
dictionaries
encyclopedias
handbooks, manuals, etc.

Print Reference Works

The Catholic Study Bible by Donald Senior (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 192.3 .A1 1990
ISBN: 0195283899
Publication Date: 1990-04-05
Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible by Karel Van der Toorn (Editor); Bob Becking (Editor); Pieter W. Van der Horst (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 680 .G57 D53
ISBN: 0802824919
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by David Noel Freedman (Editor); Allen C. Myers (Editor); Astrid B. Beck (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .E44 2000
ISBN: 9780802824004
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Who's Who in the Bible by Ronald Brownrigg; Joan Comay
Call Number: Ref BS 570 .W56 1980
ISBN: 9780517321706
Publication Date: 1993-05-30

Digital Reference Works

New Advent Bible
New Advent promotes itself as the largest Catholic website. The site provides access to a Catholic encyclopedia, Bible, Aquinas' Summa Theologica, and other reference sources.
New American Bible
The New American Bible, Revised Edition (NABRE) was released in 2011 by the US Congress of Catholic Bishops. The bible is the culmination of nearly 20 years of work by a group of nearly 100 scholars and theologians, including bishops, revisers and editors. The NABRE includes a newly revised translation of the entire Old Testament and the 1986 edition of the New Testament.
Catechism of the Catholic Church
The Catechism of the Catholic Church is the work promulgated by Pope John Paul II in 1992 to coincide with the 30th anniversary of the opening of the Second Vatican Council. The Catechism is the official, authoritative, and authentic reference text for teaching and transmitting Catholic doctrine.