Library Guides: COM 487 Career Prep and Job-Search Techniques: 1. Resources for Company Information

Talk to a Librarian

Reference Desk 610.902.8537

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use the Company Profiles link to find report on selected companies.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statisa is a statistics portal that provides current data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, and consumer goods. Ready made tables are available for downloading.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full text to major US and world publications including news wires, tv and radio broadcasts, legal publications, SEC filings, company reports, and blogs from trusted news sources.
EDGAR Database for Company Filings (10K Reports) This link opens in a new window
SEC Filings available through EDGAR. To navigate to the 10K Report: enter the company name and click search, on the search results page enter "10-K" in the Filing Type box and click search. Use the Company's 10K report for detailed information on its financial stability.

Private Companies Financials

Finding information on privately held companies is hard to find because it is not required by the SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission).

To find information on privately held companies search the below journals and/or databases:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use the Company Profiles link to find report on selected companies.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Eastern edition of the Journal covers U.S. and international business and economic news. Coverage is full text from 1984 to present. Pictures are not included.

Philadelphia Business Journal
Available in Print in the library. Some full text is available at no charge online. The Philadelphia Business Journal's website is a part of BIZJournals, a collection of national business journals. Can use this site to find articles about local companies and available jobs.

Subjects: Business, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Leadership, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology

Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm

Sat Closed

Sun 12pm-6pm