Library Guides: ENG 100 and ENG 200: History and Pop Culture: Historic Newspapers

Talk to a Librarian

Library Links

Reference Desk 610.902.8537

Newspaper Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full text to major US and world publications including news wires, tv and radio broadcasts, legal publications, SEC filings, company reports, and blogs from trusted news sources.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides searchable, full text access to almost 200 national, international and regional newspapers. Transcripts from major TV news networks are also provided.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the New York Times 1980 - present. Pictures are not available. You can browse by date or search by topic.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Eastern edition of the Journal covers U.S. and international business and economic news. Coverage is full text from 1984 to present. Pictures are not included.

General

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities external link and the Library of Congress. Learn more
Digital Archives of the Green Free Library
A database of historic newspapers that can be date and keyword searched. Use the archive to gain a local perspective on historical news, to research your family history, or to simply read about a person or event of interest.
Google: Browse all Newspapers
Use Google news to search Newspapers' web content.

Pennsylvania

Digital collection of historical Pennsylvania newspapers.
Collections of digitized State Library of Pennsylvania materials are freely available to all visitors.
Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
The Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable newspaper database.
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project, Carnegie Mellon University Libraries
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).
PA Digital
PA Digital is the Pennsylvania service hub for the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).

Local Historic Newspapers

Digital Archives of the Delaware County Library System
Access to digitized Delaware County Newspapers.
McGarrity Collection – Newspapers, Villanova University (Irish American Experience)
Access to The Irish Press, a weekly newspaper published from 1918 to 1922 dedicated to Irish nationalism and to topics of interest to Irish-Americans.
Wissahickon Valley Public Library Collections, Access PA Digital Repository
Access to the "Ambler Gazette" on the Access PA Digital Repository.

Your Public Library

Many public libraries have archival files of newspaper runs. PA Power Library contains several: The Delaware County Daily Times, Greater Philadelphia Newspapers, and historical runs of the Philadelphia Inquirer. These are available through Delaware County Public Libraries among other public library systems as a benefit of your free membership and library card.

Librarians are here to help

Holy Spirit Library

Email Me

Contact:

610.902.8537

Library Hours

Library Hours
Mon- Thu 8am-10pm
Fri 8am-5pm

Sat Closed

Sun 12pm-6pm